Pages

Monday, October 28, 2013

List of Gluten-Containing Foods

List of Gluten-Containing Foods

Whether you have a wheat allergy or wheat intolerance, which is also called celiac disease, it is important that you avoid foods containing gluten. According to Foodintol, a website about food intolerance, 15 percent of people are gluten intolerant. Wheat allergy is not as common as intolerance, but can result in coughing, nausea and even anaphylactic shock. As long as you remain vigilant by reading food labels and asking questions while dining out, it is easier than ever to find foods that are safe and delicious.

Bread, Rolls and Biscuits

    Bread
    Bread

    These basic items are fairly obvious foods that contain gluten. They can be prepared gluten-free, but unless specially noted, these items are off limits. Breads, rolls, biscuits, wheat, barley and rye are all forbidden to those avoiding foods containing gluten.

Pasta

    Pasta dishes are off limits.
    Pasta dishes are off limits.

    Spaghetti, macaroni, fettuccine and most noodles are prepared using wheat. Because there is a whole world of pasta dishes, this is unfortunate for those who like to occasionally dine out at an Italian restaurant.

Tabouleh and Couscous

    Couscous
    Couscous

    Tabouleh recipes include bulgar wheat so it is also a forbidden food item when paying attention to foods containing gluten. Couscous is a Middle Eastern pasta called semolina, which is a byproduct component of milled wheat.

Doughnuts, Ice Cream Cones and Cakes

    Add sweets to the list of gluten-containing foods.
    Add sweets to the list of gluten-containing foods.

    Gluten-containing foods also extend to items that are sweet, including doughnuts, ice cream cones, cakes and pancakes.

Seitan

    Seitan is gluten, pure and simple. This is unfortunate for those who are vegan and have a wheat intolerance or allergy because seitan is a versatile product and can be used as a meat substitute.

Other Foods Containing Gluten

    Here are some additional common foods that contain gluten: breaded fish, flour tortillas, muffins, stuffings, cereals, sausages, soy sauce, pizza crust, pretzels and bagels.

Foods That May Contain Gluten

    Here are some foods that may contain gluten, so you should read labels carefully: beer, potato chips, gravy, hot dogs and cold cuts, root beer, puddings and salad dressings.

0 comments:

Post a Comment